Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 30th, 2010

Mini Quiches

 

Remember those cute little ramekins I bought a few days ago?

sept 27 018

 

We put them to good use last night. 

I have always loved having breakfast for dinner and Emily, a fellow foodie blogger, literally dreamed up a fantastic recipe that she shared on "Emily Eats Clean".  Thanks Emily – it was even better than I thought it would be!

I did make a couple minor modifications to her recipe.  She used feta cheese; I used goat cheese.  She used basil; I nixed the basil.

Best part: it was SUPER quick and easy!

sept 30 003

sept 30 004

sept 30 005

sept 30 009

 

Totally loved how the English muffins formed a perfect crust around the eggs while they baked!

sept 30 012

sept 30 013

sept 30 010

sept 30 015

 

In my humble opinion, fresh fruit is the perfect thing to serve with egg dishes so we enjoyed some clementine orange slices and apple slices, too.

sept 30 011

 

You should try these flavorful little mini quiches soon – for breakfast, lunch OR dinner! 

MINI QUICHES

  • 1/2 of an English muffin
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp feta or goat cheese
  • sea salt
  • ground pepper

Directions: 

1)  Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray the inside of a ramekin with non-stick spray. Put English muffin half in bottom of ramekin

2)  Whisk 1 egg and 1 egg white together in bowl. Pour on top of English muffin half.

3) Top with sliced cherry tomatoes and cheese.  Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper.

4) Place in oven and bake for approximately 30 minutes or until cooked throughout.  Let cool.  Enjoy!

* This recipe makes one mini quiche.  Just do the same thing for however many you are making.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

 

Firetrucks.

I get little goosebumps whenever I see one whizz by with its lights and siren on.  It’s just so exciting and fascinating.  So it was almost as much fun for me as it was for Liss and her classmates when Fireman Ted visited their school yesterday. 🙂

sept 29 002

sept 29 003

sept 29 004

sept 29 005

sept 29 009

sept 29 011

 

The kids lined up and waited patiently for their turn to walk up the big silver steps, through the truck and back down the other side. 

sept 29 007

sept 29 015

sept 29 014 

Looks good on her.  Maybe she won’t be an actress when she grows up after all….? 😉

…. There are so many different kinds of veggie chips out there. Lately we’ve been loving Snapea Crisps from Trader Joe’s.  As I’ve said before, anytime you can take a veggie and turn it into a crunchy, salty treat – I’m ALL for it! 

Sept 7 003

 

Also really, REALLY love these!!!!!

sept 27 013

 

All this chip adoration has inspired me to try a new culinary experiment: homemade veggie chips!

I do not have a mandolin, but my food processor has a slicing blade (that I don’t think I have ever used). 

sept 30 001

sept 30 002

 

That bad boy looks pretty darn sharp!

And whaddya know?  Blondie-butt and I are heading to the Barrington Farmer’s Market this afternoon!  Hopefully there will be potatoes, beets and maybe even parsnips that I can bring home to experiment with. 

I decided to dump all the craft supplies out this bag so that it can be used to haul fruit and veggies from the market

sept 30 016

 

So, consider that the “before” photo. 

Aren’t you looking forward to the “after”?!

Me toooooo!

Workout this morning was another 40-minute power walk on Mister Treadmill while reading the next few chapters in “The Help.” I am very intrigued by this book and absolutely LOVING it.  It’s amazing how much a really brisk walk can make you SWEAT! 

Oh and guess what?  This morning Mister Scale told me that I’ve lost another pound?!!  Really?!  I am downright flabbergasted at how CUTTING OUT PROCESSED FOOD AND FOCUSING ON FRESH FRUIT AND VEGGIES IN YOUR DIET MAKES YOU DROP WEIGHT EFFORTLESSLY!  Of course, you need to continue those invaluable consistent sweat sessions but woah – you put healthy, whole, unprocessed, as-close-to-nature-as-possible, “clean” foods into your body and YOUR BOD THANKS YOU EVERY SINGLE DAY!  Why would anybody NOT eat this way????? 

***** QUESTION FOR YOU:  What is your favorite egg dish?  Favorite side dish to have with it?

Read Full Post »