Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 13th, 2010

Cinnamon Chicken?

 

sept 12 049

 

If you’re putting these in your chicken casserole too, then yes – cinnamon chicken is a-okay!

sept 12 2 002

 

This was soooooo unbelievably yummy!  The recipe was inspired by another blog I read faithfully, but at the moment I can’t even remember which one.  Gah!  It was super easy and quick to make.  Since our sweet taters were long and skinny, I cut them into round medallions instead of square-ish chunks.

sept 12 050

sept 12 053

 

It’s a wonderful casserole to toss together on a chilly fall evening and I hope you’ll try it!

 

Chicken & Sweet Potato Bake

3 chicken breasts

2 medium sweet potatoes

2 fresh peaches

2 tsp olive oil

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp cinnamon

salt and pepper to taste

2 cups brown rice

Preheat oven to 350.

Dice chicken into 1/2-inch cubes.

Peel sweet potatoes and cut into cubes or medallions.  Cut peaches into chunks.

In large bowl, toss diced chicken, sweet potato pieces and peach chunks. Add oil, ginger, garlic powder, cinnamon and salt and pepper.  Toss well and transfer to baking dish coated with nonstick spray.

Bake for 20 minutes uncovered. Remove from oven, cover with foil and bake for another 30-40 minutes (this keeps the taters from drying out and keeps them soft).

Prepare rice.  Serve casserole over rice.

Did my typical Monday TJ’s shopping today after dropping Liss off at school.  Lots to buy this time since the birthday tea party is this Thursday!   After school we went to the library for a bag full of new books. 

sept 13 001

 

Couldn’t wait to show my girl the pretty orange daisies I got for the food table at her party.  Photographing flowers is very enjoyable, indeed!

sept 13 004

sept 13 007

sept 13 011

 

They hadn’t been on the windowsill five minutes when I noticed Sophie chewing something orange.

“Who, me?”

Grrrr!

sept 13 014

sept 13 015

Our beauty-full daisies are now chewed-upon and somewhat bedraggled-looking.  Thanks, Soph.  😦

On a happier note, my SUN WARRIOR sample arrived in today’s mail and I can’t wait to make protein bars with it!  Not exactly sure when I’ll get to it because it’s a mega-busy week, but you know I will have pictures and a recipe soon!

sept 13 016

 

Thanks, Sun Warrior!  Looks great!

Time to grill some burgers.  Mmmmmm, beef!   …..If you didn’t see my farmer’s market pics in yesterday’s post, get thee over here and check it out.  🙂

Have a lovely evening and thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading!

***** QUESTION FOR YOU:  What’s your favorite type of flower?

Read Full Post »