Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 27th, 2010

Picky Picky

 

As you start to stock your kitchen with healthier foods and they replace processed, 40-ingredient pseudo-foods, do you find yourself getting pickier and pickier about where you shop?  Me too.

This week is busy.  SO much to do – starting today.  In the interest of saving a little time I skipped the trek to Trader Joe’s 😦 and went to Dominick’s instead.  Dominick’s is one of the major grocery store chains in my area.  The one across the street from me is usually a ghost town and it’s amazing that they’re still in business.  At any rate, I know that they carry spelt flour and sucanat (neither of which TJ’s or the other large grocery store carry) so I thought I’d explore to see what else they had. 

sept 27 001

 

I give it a mixed review.  And I can’t wait to go to TJ’s next week!

Had to settle for some “not as good as what I really want” substitutions.

Wanted Earth Balance.  Settled for this.

sept 27 010

Wanted TJ’s natural chicken.  Settled for…. gulp…. Perdue.

sept 27 003

 

Wanted Puffins and TJ’s $1.99/box rice cereal.  Settled for this.

sept 27 006

sept 27 007

 

Wanted 100% dried fruit bars.  Settled for this.

sept 27 011

 

REALLY wanted almond butter.  They had none.  Settled for this.

sept 27 012

 

On the other hand, they had some things I was pretty thrilled about.

sept 27 013

Could. Not. Stop. Eating. These.  They are sooooooooo good and the ingredients are stellar.

sept 27 019

sept 27 020

sept 27 016

 

Heard angels singing when I saw that spelt flour AND sucanat were half price!!!  Two of each, please!

sept 27 014

sept 27 015

 

There is a downright ridiculous lack of organic produce at Dominick’s!  I couldn’t find ANY!  SO not cool.  The only fresh produce I bought were bananas and Brussels sprouts.

sept 27 017

 

They also had no fresh cranberries (for a recipe I’m making later in the week).  So….had to settle for these.

sept 27 004

 

Urgh.

One last thing:  They had ramekins!

sept 27 018

 

Why has it taken me ten years to buy ramekins?  Aren’t they cute?!

Also picked up some big cheap containers to store all these nuts.

sept 27 022

sept 27 024

 

All I can say is – it’s a good thing there’s a TV in the kitchen to distract me from how much I missed TJ’s this week.

sept 27 023

 

(How much does this shot prove that these two constantly talk over each other?) 😛

Tonight I’m planning to try my hand at Angela’s Peanut Butter Jam Banana Breakfast Pizza.  As I told my hubby a couple weeks ago, every now and then I love to make a very unconventional dinner.  Been looking forward to this awesome-sounding pizza ever since I saw it on Angela’s blog.  YUM!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading!

***** QUESTIONS FOR YOU:  Are you a picky food shopper?  Do you tend to stick to one store or travel to different ones to get the products you really want?

Read Full Post »